WHAT-COMM Administrative Board


The Board is authorized to establish broad policy guidelines for the operation of the What-Comm and Prospect Communication Centers; authorize the financial contributions of the participating user groups; approve new agencies who wish to join; serve as final resolution for policy disputes; and locate and lease facilities for the Centers.

Time Requirements

Meetings are typically held the last Thursday of January, May and September of each year. Special meetings may occur at the discretion of the Board.


The WHAT-COMM Administrative Board shall have 9 voting members; consisting of the Whatcom County Executive; the Whatcom County Sheriff; the City of Bellingham Mayor; the Chairperson of the County Council Finance Committee; the Chairperson of the Bellingham City Council Public Safety Committee; the City of Bellingham Police Chief, one elected mayor or council person to represent the general authority law enforcement agencies of the various county cities, to be selected by the mayors of those cities; one elected fire commissioner to represent all of the rural fire districts, chosen by them; and one Fire Chief from the Whatcom County Fire Chief's Association, to be chosen by them. The City of Bellingham Fire Chief serves as a non-voting member.


​WHAT-COMM Administrative Board